jump to navigation

Long Island In The Top Three November 17, 2006

Posted by Geri in Buying a Home, family, General, Home, In The News, Long Island, New York, News, Real Estate, Uncategorized.
trackback

It may come as a surprise to some, but certainly not to me.  As reported by Newsday, the December issue of Self magazine ranked Long Island third, right after Honolulu and Portland, Maine as one of the healthiest places in which women can thrive.

“Surprised? Don’t be, said Sara Austin, the magazine’s news director. Nassau and Suffolk’s low rates of crime, unemployment and suicide and its population of highly educated and affluent residents helped boost the rating.”

A long time resident of Long Island, one of the first things that struck me as I searched for a home was the comfort women seemed to have in their environment.  Many times as I trolled the area I saw women alone, jogging at ten o’clock at night.  I remember thinking at the time that their obvious lack of fear was a good indicator of a safe place in which to bring up my son.  I’ve never regretted my choice to make Long Island my home and I’ve spent a lot of years helping other people do the same.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a comment