jump to navigation

You Get What You Pay For — Or Do You? November 29, 2006

Posted by Geri in Buying a Home, Long Island, Marketing, New York, Real Estate, Real Estate Market, Selling Your Home.
trackback

There is more and more discussion in the real estate community of late about discount brokers damaging our reputation as an industry, while offering consumers what appears on the surface to be a real bargain.  In order to understand just exactly what you’re getting when you hire anyone to represent you in the sale or purchase of a home you have to ask questions.

I will start by saying there is no such thing as a free lunch.  Therefore, if someone tells you they’ll market your home as extensively for a bargain price as the full service broker, generally speaking it simply isn’t so.  We all face certain fixed costs and we allocate dollars from every sale to keep our businesses running.  To be successful for ourselves and for you, we’re constantly looking for new and more effective ways to attract buyers for our homeowners. 

Recognizing that most of us in the business have no trust funds and have families to feed, when commissions are discounted, something has to give.  Unfortunately when there is not enough money in the coffer, the clients suffer.  Nobody can run a business successfully without making a profit.  Given a choice of diluting those profits or reducing costly marketing, the loser is more often than not the seller.

There is nothing wrong with opting for a lesser service for a lower dollar amount . . . as long as you understand the rules of the game.  I just sold a home in which the owners knowingly chose a flat fee listing broker.  They paid simply to have their home in the MLS (multiple listing service).  They understood that all the showings, ads, open houses and negotiations were their responsibility.  After four weeks they were tiring of giving up their weekends to wait and hope someone would show up at their open houses.  They got to experience, as we do, the tire kickers, the pseudo buyers who express great interest only to disappear into the ether, and the nosy neighbors.

Fortunately for them, I had the perfect buyer for their home so their discomfort was short lived.  Had they continued with the process as most people do in the current buyers’ market, I’m not sure they would have been happy campers.  I must say though, unlike the experience most people have had in their circumstances here, their limited service broker stepped up to the plate more than once when they had concerns about the progress of the transaction.

Even though I’m tempted to say the obvious, “you get what you pay for,” I’m stymied by the occasional maverick like Greg Swann, a staunch proponent of a discount pricing model who refuses to lower his outstanding level of service and who manages to make it all work.   I’ve yet to meet his counterpart on Long Island however.

Comments»

1. Trevor Smith - November 30, 2006

Perhaps, some discount agents cut service when they cut commissions. However, I am not one of them, and I know alot of others who are doing a stellar job. How do we make it then? Volume. People want a more reasonable commission and we are providing it. I list for a flat 4% commission, and I have never gone to a listing appointment and not gotten the listing. This isn’t to brag, but its to say that to consumers, saving $5000 -$15000 for the same services is a no brainer.

I think many traditional agents are scared of discounters and have resorted to name calling in order to protect their territory. For instance, these guys:

http://www.brokeragentnews.com/news/residential/2006_11/11_28_2006_yt_1164777415.html

Your blog post is much more thought out and balanced, which is appreciated.

BTW: I like Greg Swann too. He’s an Arizona Real Estate Cowboy… Good to have around!

2. geri806 - November 30, 2006

Trevor,

I consider myself lucky. I’ve never feared modalities other than my own. There’s room for all of us. I remember a time not so many years ago when Foxton’s came to New York and many of my peers were bad mouthing them, sometimes going as far as moving their signs — a childish gesture to voice their displeasure.

I also sat on a leadership committee when IDX finally came to New York. I’d waited, sometimes impatiently, for Long Island to catch up with the rest of the country. When the top people in the company at the time proudly announced that they’d opted out, I sat there in disbelief, shaking my head at their ignorance. That was one of the reasons I left them. It took years for them to “get it.”

One of the things I’ve learned in my 20 years in this business is that change is inevitable. Adapt or die.

I wish you continued good luck with your business.

3. Trevor Smith - November 30, 2006

I hear what you’re saying. One of my co-bloggers at Blue Collar Agents had bullet holes fired into one of his yard signs. Check it out:

http://bluecollaragents.com/wordpress/?p=20

Thanks for your open mindedness and encouragement! There is room for all of us. Best of luck to you too!

4. Real estate links and how to enact a Hollywood Western . . . | BloodhoundBlog | There's always something to howl about... - December 1, 2006

[…] Geri Sonkin at All About Long Island has thoughts on discounting. My preliminary conclusion is still that buyers don’t care very much, but I’m still playing with the idea. Three of the houses I have closing in December I would not have had without the flat fee buyer’s agent’s commission, so that’s a counter-argument. […]


Leave a comment