jump to navigation

Writely — You Bet It Is! September 23, 2006

Posted by Geri in General, Technology, Uncategorized, Word Processing.
trackback
An avid reader of industry blogs, I came across a great find last night on Jim Cronin’s always well thought out RealEstateTomato.  In what may be the death knell for Bill Gates’ Microsoft Word or at least a major threat to his monopolization of word processing, Writely, a newer tentacle in Google’s far reaching universe will no doubt be a major player.
With an intuitive interface and capabilities far outstripping those currently available from it’s competition, Writely offers its users an option of collaborating on a document online in real time by merely inviting others to join.  This could be a powerful tool for group projects.  For the bloggers out there, imagine the ease of creating an article and with a simple click, click it appears on your blog. Because files can be stored online you can access them from anywhere, that alone makes for ease of operation.  Start a project on one computer, finish it on another.  An additional and clever option is the ability to save your documents in a variety of formats, giving you much more control over the process.  I could go on and on about my budding love affair with this technology, but this is one you’re going to have to try for yourself.  If I were you I’d go right over to Writely and sign yourself up. 
An admitted technophile, I found myself blogging about this late into the night on ActiveRain and sharing it with my fellow CyberStars®.  So Jim if you’re out there I suspect my gratitude for finding this little gem will be ongoing.  You definitely have me as a devoted reader.

Comments»

1. Harshad Joshi - September 23, 2006

Looking at its current avtar, it definately appers as a serious competition to MS office product suites. Allowing offline backup makes it very interesting. And on top of it, its free, just like free lunch. Can be also used as a personal wiki.. 😀

However theres a minor glitch that might influence its rapid usage – the lack of common broadband and fast internet access of internet around the globe. Many countries esp the developing ones are largely facing problems in managing broadband access to people. These are the nations that are the biggest consumers of office products.

But lets hope for the best and may the technologically sound software win.. 🙂

2. Jim Cronin - September 23, 2006

Geri-
I’m thrilled to have earned another reader!
ActiveRain has been a fantasitic platform for such relationship building and personal blog exposure.
Now that I know you’re out here, I’ll be keeping an eye on you as well.

3. kattt - September 23, 2006

I just tried Writely yesterday. I uploaded a Word document and it screwed-up the paragraph indents. Not only that, but it’s not yet compatible with Blogger Beta, so don’t get too excited. For most people, it’s more efficient to write documents off-line and then hit the upload button.

4. geri806 - September 23, 2006

Kattt

My experience has been that Word documents are not compatible with many other WYSIWYG editors and the formatting gets all screwed up. So far I’ve had no issues with this. And don’t forget it’s still in beta.


Leave a comment